top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael Ferrer

Review for American Satan


A few days ago, Sebrina (my beautiful wife) and I watched the movie "American Satan", a film directed by Ash Avildson (CEO of Sumerian Records and Sumerian Films).

The film follows the struggles and temptations of the band "The Relentless" fronted by Black Veil Brides Andy Black as Johnny Faust, Guitarists Ben Bruce (of Asking Alexandria) as Leo Donovan, Booboo Stewart as Vic Lakota, Bassist Jesse Sullivan as Lily Mayflower, Drummer Sebastian Gregory as Dylan James and Manager John Bradley as Ricky Rollins, as they all converge from the East Coast of the US and London, England to Hollywood, California with the hopes of making it big in the Rock 'n Roll scene. On their road to superstardom, they encounter a man of different faces, played by the great Malcolm McDowell, that promises them success and all of the delights that comes with making it. By accepting his offer and committing some questionable actions, they go from sleeping in a van to Gods of Rock.

As Sebrina and I sat down to watch, we had no idea what we were in store. And boy were we surprised. You here the word Satan in anything and you think of devil worshipping. But, I actually found it far from that. It reminded me of when I was in my band Deathly Composition and how we were willing to do whatever it took to make it.

One thing that struck a chord with me was the temptations of sex, alcohol and drugs that came with selling your soul for rock. Each band member deals with certain temptations. Mine was sex. Especially when I would sing "BloodLust", where I would get close to female fans and lead them to kiss me or at least try to, only to have me walk away.

Though Sebrina told me that she could do without the sex scenes, I was fine with it because it shows the reality of what being a band that achieves success as rapidly as they did gets. (I think that if I ever mention wanting to be in a band, she may chain me up in the house. Not that I would mind. Hahaha)

By the end of the movie, I couldn't help but applaud because of how open-ended it was left. It got me thinking of what would have happened if DC would have made it and whether or not I could've kept temptation at bay.

All in all, the movie was phenomenal. The acting was great, especially since Andy and Ben have not acted before. I have a new appreciation for BooBoo's acting since I have only seen him in the Descendants (thanks kids!). And Malcom McDowell has become a greater actor in my eyes.

The music was outstanding. Jonathan Davis from Korn did an excellent job with the soundtrack. Again! (Remember "Queen of the Damned"?) What I truly love is how they made an The Relentless record called American Satan! I immediately bought the album and have it on repeat. It brings a whole new appreciation to Andy Black's vocal range and Ben Bruce's guitar knowledge. My favorite songs off of the album are "Let Him Burn", "We Lose Control", their rendition of "Personal Jesus" and "Me Against The Devil".

All and all, this movie gets a five star rating. I believe that it can become a cult classic as was "The Lost Boys", "Repo! The Genetic Opera", "The Devil's Rejects" and "Rocky Horror Picture Show." I recommend this to everyone, especially those who are seeking to make it in the music business of any genre. I can't wait for the series.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Portion of "#Unlabled" by Michael A. Ferrer

Chapter 9: The Art of Suffering This chapter is probably the hardest one to write and to accept. Yet it is one of the most important things that needs to be discussed. It is for this reason that I tit

bottom of page